Every Tribe, Every Tongue

Last Sunday I was blessed to be able to go to a Spanish speaking church with my Spanish class.  What a wonderful experience!  The passion and energy that is poured out for the Lord is so powerful.  I can’t help but smile when I see people so full of Christ’s love that they can’t contain it.  Time after time I am floored by that example.  The Spirit was surely moving.  Even when I wasn’t exactly sure of what was being said, I was sure that God was moving. 

And that reminds me how wonderful it is that we serve a God Who can burst through language barriers and exist in every culture.  Our God is a God of all the nations, and one day we will worship with believers from every tribe and tongue.  (Revelation 7:9) If that’s not awesome, then I don’t really know what is. 

This experience inspires me in so many ways. 

1. It causes me to evaluate whether people see Christ in me. Not only on Sunday…but everyday? 

2. Hearing people worship in another language reminds me how beautiful it is when people praise the LORD in their heart language. And that reminds me how many people still do not have the Word in their own language. And that reminds me of our call to go to all the nations.

3. It reminds me of so many attributes of the LORD. His sovereignty…over the whole world.  His omnipotence…how He is everywhere all at once.  His faithfulness…how He reveals Himself to us in so many ways.

 

Today in Western Civ we talked about why he Bible is so friendly to translation, compared with other religions, which demand their holy books be read in the original language.  I knew this, but it wasn’t until today that I wondered why.  My professor pointed out that Jesus Himself was translated into human form…”The Word became flesh and dwelt among us…” (John 1:14) 

God really is so good. 

Leave a Reply

