Responding to His Call

This week, God has been teaching me about the differences between hearing God’s call to go and only saying I am willing to go vs. hearing God’s call, saying I am willing to go, and then stepping out in faith and doing that. I have been challenged to examine my own life. It is pretty well known by those close to me that I’m passionate about missions, culture and the world. But when I am God presents me with opportunities to go, do I go? Or do I let fear and discomfort be my gods? I am learning that just because something is hard, does not mean it is okay not to do it. Jesus never promised that following Him would be easy. In fact, he said just the opposite. 

24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever would save his life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.26 For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul? –Matthew 16:24-26

25 Now great crowds accompanied him, and he turned and said to them, 26 “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple. 27 Whoever does not bear his own cross and come after me cannot be my disciple.28 For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it? 29 Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, 30 saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.’ 31 Or what king, going out to encounter another king in war, will not sit down first and deliberate whether he is able with ten thousand to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand? 32 And if not, while the other is yet a great way off, he sends a delegation and asks for terms of peace. 33 So therefore, any one of you who does not renounce all that he has cannot be my disciple. –Luke 14:25-33

He has also shown me that as believers, there is nothing we should be afraid of on this earth. Psalm 118:6 says, “The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” The God you serve is so powerful, that everything and everyone else pales in comparison. That is the God that is holding you. 

In Kisses from Katie, one of my favorite books, Katie writes, “We are not called to be safe, we are simply promised that when we are in danger, God is right there with us. And there is no better place to be than in His hands.”

I’m simply saying that we need to be ready to respond to the places God has called us to. It is easy to talk about them, but when we are called to move…will we? Can we confidently move in faith, because we know that God will sustain us, and use these experiences to grow us and change us? 

“I could just sit
I could just sit and wait for all Your goodness
Hope to feel Your presence
And I could just stay
I could just stay right where I am and hope to feel You
Hope to feel something again

And I could hold on
I could hold on to who I am and never let You
Change me from the inside
And I could be safe
I could be safe here in Your arms and never leave home
Never let these walls down

But You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You will lead me Lord
You have called me higher
You have called me deeper
And I’ll go where You lead me Lord

I will be Yours for all my life.
Where You lead me
Where You lead me Lord”

-All Sons and Daughters “Called Me Higher” 

Leave a Reply

