Friday Thoughts: Something About Papers, Coffee and Who I Am

Today in honors class, my professors dropped the bomb that we all knew was coming, when, just as we were about to leave, holding on to that last hope that maybe, just maybe, we were wrong! Maybe it won’t happen! Well, it happened. They assigned us a paper. Cool. Not just any paper, but the papers we’ve been hearing about since about a year ago, honors weekend…(we walked by the prospective honors kids…aw……not so long ago…weird!). The papers that are promised to be graded ridiculously and make us think ridiculous things. As one of my friends said this morning, “The honeymoon phase of honors has ended.” I remember that one time last week where I actually had nothing to do. Haha…….good times. To avoid being melodramatic, I think I’ll get on with where I wanted to go here. As fun as it is to sit here, drinking my Starbucks, blogging. 😉 Just kidding. ANYWAY.

I went about writing this in order to focus my thoughts before I dive into this paper in a few hours and over the next couple of days. It’s going to be easy to get stressed out by these assignments, and it would be crazy to say that I never will allow this class to get the best of me. I mean, it already has at some points. But one of the promises I made myself when I agreed to join this program, was that I would never let honors own me. Sure, I meant it in several ways. With my time, with my energy, and with my passions. But ultimately, it is my goal to always remember that this class is not where I find my identity. My identity is found in Jesus Christ. Not in how many times I engage in class discussion or the grades I get on my papers. Yes, these can be good things, and I’m not saying I shouldn’t put forth my best efforts. Obviously, I should. I just wanted to take some time here to refocus. So let’s do this.

Jesus has made me a new creation. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away, behold, the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

Christ lives in me. “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

I was made for another place. “But our citizenship is in Heaven, and from it, we await a Savior, our Lord Jesus Christ.” Philippians 3:20

Jesus is the only One worth boasting about. “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord. For it is not the one who commends himself who is approved, but the one whom the Lord commends.” 2 Corinthians 10:17-18

My greatest purpose should be to tell others about Jesus. “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20

So there it is. I’ve surely been given a task, and yes, I’m going to try and honor and glorify the Lord while I do it. But at the same time, I’m going to try and not allow circumstances to distract me, or tell me that these things are where my identity, purpose and worth are found. Jesus saved me. He died for me. He loves me. He has made me new. This news is so big and great and powerful that I should be bursting to tell people about it. These things will last far beyond a few semesters.

So, here’s to the papers. Here’s to the many Bevs Trips we will make to Java. Let the shenanigans begin.

Leave a Reply

