To Know You is to Want to Know You More

Today was our first day of tutoring for the semester! For those of you who aren’t familiar with what my college does in Buffalo each Saturday, it’s pretty cool actually. Several of us sign up and get up really early and ride up to Buffalo, where we get dropped off in groups at the houses of different refugee families, from countries all over the world. Last semester, it was a blessing in so many ways. You learn so many things that you never would have expected. 

Today, I didn’t get to go with my usual family, so since my plans were specified for my family’s level and interests, my activities didn’t necessarily line up with this family. I did a lot of watching and jumping in here and there, since my plans weren’t really applicable. But that’s not the point. The cool thing is, these girls were SO eager to learn! They were hanging on every word of the things my partner was saying. They were answering all her questions, writing down EVERYTHING she showed them, and so excited to play the games we started. 

It was great. As I watched, God really used it. First off, it reminded me of my travels that I’ve had so far, and those that I’m going to have in the future. It reminded me of the servant-learner-storyteller model that I’ve come to know and love from the mission trips I’ve been blessed to be a part of. It challenged me to really seek to learn from the cultures I get to be a part of. Not just because that’s the “proper” thing to do when entering a culture that’s different from my own, but because I am excited and hanging on every word that they’re telling me. 

And secondly, it challenged me to examine how I respond to God’s word. Am I eager, sitting on the edge of my seat to study Scripture, talk to God through prayer and serve the LORD, or is it just checking off another box on my long “to-do” list? 

God is the one who sustains me, and the Bible is Him to us, so wanting to read and learn more should come naturally. But, easier said than done, eh? (Canadian influence. It’s real.) Further proof that sin is real, Jesus is powerful and merciful, and He is never done with us. 

I love how God uses the things we would hardly suspect to teach us, challenge us and stretch us. 

“As a deer pants for flowing streams,
    so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God,
    for the living God.”  Psalm 42:1-2

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105

 

“To know Him is to want to know Him more.” 

Leave a Reply

