So Are Your Ways Higher Than My Ways

“God always gives His best to those who leave the choice with Him.” -Jim Elliot 

Far too many times have I prayed for God’s will and yet been so unwilling to give up my control. I’ve said the words with my mouth, yet continued to try to work things however I wish. Whoever said actions speak louder than words was spot on. God has been working on me lately, in that He has been challenging me to really see the difference between these two things. For me, that has meant a lot of surrendering certain things to Him, instead of trying to manipulate situations to make them play out as I think they should and want them to. To a lot of people, this might seem silly, or stupid, but what God has been showing me is quite the opposite. 

Last night in Bible study, we talked about how in Galatians 4, Paul talks about how we can call God our “Abba, Father.” This is such an intimate term. Among other things, part of this is that God always knows what we need. A lot of times, we think that we know the best ways that we can serve God, or the best way for something to turn out. Sometimes, God has other plans, and His ways are always higher than ours (Isaiah 55:9). I know that I can trust Him to not only provide, but to provide in ways that I never imagined (1 Corinthians 2:9). 

All this is a lot easier said than done, so it’s beyond wonderful that God is patient and doesn’t give up on His children. I’ve been seeing so far though, that there’s a lot of peace that comes with surrender and submission to the Jesus. It’s such a blessing to serve a God who cares about the intricate details of our lives (Luke 12:7), knows what lies ahead for each of us (Jeremiah 29:11), and wants us to give our troubles to Him (1 Peter 5:7). 

Leave a Reply

