Our Highest Pursuit

Yesterday at church, our pastor gave a sermon on the idea “God is the goal.” He used the passage in 1 Corinthians 9 where Paul talks about a race. 

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

Paul talked about running to get a crown that will last forever– that is living in a way where he is wholeheartedly pursuing God. God is not just another item on his checklist, but rather the lens through which everything else is seen and done. 

This was especially challenging and convicting to me in light of some decisions that I will have to make soon. I was challenged to examine my prayer life and my spiritual life. As much as God does care about the things that are important to us, we surely can and should pray about these things and trust that God will answer us. However, I found that I had been obsessing over them, in hopes of getting an answer. That’s all good, and I do have faith that God will answer my prayers. But, in the waiting time, I need to pursue and draw closer to Jesus. By knowing Him and His heart more, I will be able to better discern His will. 

I was also challenged by this thought: 

Worldly people pursue worldly things. Godly people pursue God. 

Notice that it does not say godly things. Godly things are not bad things, but at the end of the day, God Himself should be our greatest goal and our highest pursuit.  

 

I hope your Monday is off to a wonderful start.

Leave a Reply

