Clutter, Clean, Contemplate (10 points for Alliteration)

So, maybe this is just me, but if that’s the case, indulge me for a second. Wow, actually I hate myself for saying “indulge me.” That’s so weird. But I guess that isn’t really the point. . . . just. . . if you’re feeling it, go with what I’m saying for a second. I really appreciate when I clean my room. Don’t get me wrong, my room definitely isn’t messy. It’s more like, cluttered. Basically, there’s stuff on the floor and on my dresser, but I know where the important stuff is, so that’s what matters right? It’s been a lot worse since college (Interestingly enough, my dorm is pretty neat!), because nothing really got organized in the last minute packing spree back in August. Then, we got our floors fixed, so my room became a storage room, and since then it’s gotten better, but I’ve dumped stuff off during breaks, plus there’s just other stuff. 

So this break I was just like, how can I live here!? I’m gonna clean up. SO I DID! And it’s pretty darn satisfying. But the point is I found a devotional I wrote last year for homeroom. (My homeroom teacher had the students take turns…it was really great!) Mine must have been given around New Year’s because it was all about resolutions. In retrospect, it’s really neat to see all the ways God provided! 

I wrote. . . . 

-God put Acts 17:28 on my heart at the beginning of this year– “In Him we live and move and have our being.” 
He challenged me to put Him at the center of my life, as the #1 priority, rather than something on a check list. 
-I was challenged to pray for His will, not mine, which was (and is!) hard for me, since I’m a “planner” 
-God had turned a lot of my college plans upside down. I learned to accept those, and was reminded of Jesus’ prayer in the Garden of Gethsemane– “Father if You are willing, take this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but Yours be done.” (Luke 22:42) 
-God’s timing is greater than mine! Always, even when it’s hard–“Wait for the LORD, be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD” (Psalm 27:14) 
-Often times, I’m not thinking BIG enough. “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him.” (1 Corinthians 2:9)

It was crazy to find this and spend some time reflecting. During senior year, I was really set on going to PBU. I visited the campus and loved it. I mean come on– I even had the hoodie! AND the T-shirt. I was all set. I spent so many hours trying to make it fit the desires that God had laid on my heart for my major, but it just wasn’t working. (Duh, Emily. This should’ve been a red flag. . . ) I went to Houghton on ANOTHER visit, convinced that it wouldn’t be a good fit for me (It couldn’t be! No way! Please! Anything but a college 5 hours away in the middle of….literally….no where), and then it ended up being seemingly perfect for me. Then I wrestled with God to accept that. Now, it’s hard to believe that I’m almost done with my freshman year at Houghton. I know I’m just getting started, but I have already been so blessed! Through the challenges, lessons, laughs, friendships, etc. I have gotten to know the Lord more, and been a part of some beautiful friendships. 

While God is still teaching me a whole lot about what it means to pray for His will, wait on His timing, and trust His plans, it is encouraging to think about all the things He has done in the last year in this area.

And to think all this reflecting happened because I was feeling a little cluttered. This never would’ve happened if I had a clean room, right? (psh.) Who says spick and span is better than clutter, anyway? 😉 

Leave a Reply

