Eyes, Hands and Feet

“So you’re waiting, even if you don’t quite know it, waiting for the moment when you realize that you really are different to them; that there are people out there…who don’t hate you or wish you any harm, but who nevertheless shudder at the very thought of you–of how you were brought into the world and why–and who dread the idea of your hand brushing against theirs. The first time you glimpse yourself through the eyes of a person like that, it’s a cold moment. It’s like walking past a mirror you’ve walked past every day of your life, and suddenly it shows you something else, something troubling and strange,” (Ishiguro 36).

I’ll be honest, a lot of the time in honors, when we read the novels and watch the films, I’m just like. . . what even is this? I see no point/this is ridiculous/what were the professors thinking? However, every now and then, we talk about something or read/watch something that makes me think and feel things and be stretched in a really awesome way. I’m working on our novel for this week, Never Let Me Go, and so far. . . it’s a bit trippy. But I found this quote, and the only way I can describe it is: profound. It made me stop, think, reread it, and think some more.

It made me really think deeply about how I go through life. . .how do people feel when they walk by me? Do I look at the people I walk by in a city as people? Or just the landscape around me? This quote challenges me to pray for Jesus’ eyes when I’m seeing people. . . to practice what I preach. . . to pray that Jesus would help me to be His hands and feet.

25 And behold, a lawyer stood up to put him to the test, saying, “Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?” 26 He said to him, “What is written in the Law? How do you read it?” 27 And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.” 28 And he said to him, “You have answered correctly; do this, and you will live.”

-Luke 10:25-28

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

