Wanderlust: noun; a strong innate desire to travel the world

I’m not sure if this happens to everyone, but sometimes I just have those days where the last place I want to be is in a classroom. No duh. That’s probably the struggle of most students. But, I just want to be out in the world. Well, that’s pretty vague, you say. Yeah. It is. But it’s true. I want to see everything that this great big world has to offer. See all the ways Jesus is moving in every corner of the globe. Enjoy His beautiful creation. Make some new friends. Learn from them. Work side by side with locals to make a difference. Be challenged. Experience it all.

I mean, I guess this isn’t surprising. You’re reading the blog of the girl whose room is covered in maps and asked a co-worker today, “Do you ever just get the urge to start speaking Spanish?” lolololol. She said yes, but who knows if she was just being nice or not xD.

And some days it’s challenging. I mean, the idea of spending time in another country vs. actually doing it is a huge deal. I’m sure when I go study abroad, I’ll be this weird mix of excited/nervous/horrified/ready/all the other things. And also don’t get me wrong! These last semesters have been a lot of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had. I’m surrounded by great people who challenge me and make me laugh 24/7. I’m so glad to be at a school that is preparing me to go out into the world.

But that’s not the point, I guess. The point is that God has given me a dream. A dream to go to the nations, learn from them, love people, and share who He is with them. Some days I’m really scared and some days it’s just bursting out of me and I can hardly keep it inside. The point of this seemingly pointless blog post is to say: “The things you are passionate about are not random. They are your callings.” God has given you a dream for a reason. It probably seems too big, but that’s so you’ll have to rely on Him more fully. It’s scary. It’s exciting. But God is in control. He wants to use you. And isn’t that awesome?

“It may take place in a foreign land or it may take place in your backyard, but I believe that we were each created to change the world for someone. To serve someone. To love someone the way Christ first loved us, to spread His light. This is the dream, and it is possible.” -Katie Davis

Leave a Reply

